The Roadless Traveled

26 Sep

The crazy lady who lives below us has taken to greeting me with non sequiturs — “schönes wochenende” on a weekday, or “guten morgen” when I’m coming back from the späti with a midnight beer. The former statement I had to think about for a bit; the latter was pretty obviously wrong even to me. Is she as oblivious to the days of the week as I am? Is she testing my grasp of the German language?

Anyway, I’m usually rushing back up the stairs to escape the rain that starts every time I go outside, and only have time for a mumbled reply. Yes, autumn is here, and this year it’s really just a pre-winter. It feels so good, dear reader, to discuss such mundane topics on the wunderblog, like a homecoming of sorts. My last post here was… I’m too lazy to look, so we’ll just say a long time ago. I’m in Berlin, still, as usual, and Jason is not, as usual. Where is he? you ask. That’s the same question I’m always trying to answer as I run up the stairs, flinging off my raincoat, rapidly unwrapping my soaked scarf, pointing my internet browser to:

The Bikely Grind

wherein Jason chronicles his bicycle journey from some town in the middle of nowhere called Denver to San Francisco. He says he’s in Austin, Nevada now. I think he accidentally went southeast, found himself in the capital of Texas, and is telling a poorly thought-out lie to save face. Can’t fool me, buddy.

And hey, if you decide to open (another) bike-themed coffee shop in Denver, you’ve already got the name chosen.

2 Responses to “The Roadless Traveled”

  1. jasonbox October 14, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Genius work! Can’t wait for Ramendan!

    • ianmdm October 14, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      I’m counting down the days.

Leave a Reply

